PDA

View Full Version : Making money off traffic

jaxon121
08-13-2002, 06:00 AM
Hi all,

as you may know I'm a relative newbie to the asian webmaster scene, and I was hoping some of you veterans could help me out here. My site has been generating what i'd consider pretty considerable traffic, and I want to know the best way to turn that traffic into money.

I've heard of ad sponsorships that pay "per impression" - that is, they pay a certain amount every time an ad is downloaded on a page (as opposed to "per click" or "click-thru" payment). Anyone know how we can get started with something like this? Any good referrals to a service that does this?

Here are a few site stats from the last two weeks of July 2002:
Total Pages:
Avg. Hits per Day: 640,422
Avg. Files per Day: 456,393
Avg. Pages per Day: 131,326
Avg. KBytes per Day: 5,480,878

Are these numbers high enough for us to generate income through traffic trading, banner ads, etc.?

What we DON'T want to do is totally sell out and send our users thru endless banners, pop-ups, dirty tricks, etc. Till now our site has been 100% clean with ZERO ads. We're willing to change that, but only if it's clean, honest, and worth it.

So... any help/advice from you pros out there??

steve v2
08-13-2002, 06:28 AM
hi jaxon121,

nice going on your site...it looks to me like you are pumping out a lot of traffic.

just a note..."hits" is really meaningless...if you got 10 images on your page and 10 visitors, that is 100 hits. or 5 visitors visiting a page with 10 images twice each is 100 hits.

try to get a handle on your uniques...generally it is a pretty set percentage of your hits...I found it was 10%, but it depends on how many graphics you have, how deep your site it, etc...

not to say what is good or bad...some sites get hit once per visitor and some sites get hit 300 times per visitior, since each hit is a file sent by the server...an html file or a graphic file, etc.

Steve

steve v2
08-13-2002, 06:45 AM